Joint Task Force

The Memphis and Shelby County Covid-19 Joint Task Force was formed in March of 2020 at the direction of Mayor Jim Strickland and Mayor Lee Harris to ensure a coordinated and comprehensive response to the novel coronavirus pandemic.  The mission of the task force is to continually assess and anticipate the needs of residents of Memphis and Shelby County and to tend to those needs as efficiently as possible.  The task force also serves as the point of contact for the state’s Unified Command which is under the direction of Governor Bill Lee.  The operation of the task force is helmed by City of Memphis COO, Doug McGowen and Shelby County CAO, Dwan Gilliom.

Members of the task force include elected officials from the all the municipalities in Shelby County, and officials from surrounding counties in Tennessee, Arkansas and Mississippi; the Shelby County Health Department; all area hospitals, school districts, several nonprofit agencies that serve our most vulnerable populations; epidemiologists and other medical professionals; the City of Memphis Office of Emergency Management and Shelby County Office of Preparedness teams which are supported by Emergency Support Function leaders and their teams.

The Task Force:

Mayor Jim Strickland, City of Memphis

Mayor Lee Harris, Shelby County

Dr. Alisa Haushalter, Shelby County Health Department

Chief Doug McGowen, COO City of Memphis

Chief Dwan Gilliom, CAO Shelby County

Municipal mayors of:

Arlington, Bartlett, Collierville, Germantown, Lakeland, Millington


Dr. Manoj Jain, Epidemiologist, Dr. Jon McCullers, UT Medical, Dr. Jeff Warren, Physician, David Sweat, Shelby County Health Department

Hospitals/Medical Partners

Baptist Memorial Health Care, Methodist Le Bonheur Healthcare, Regional One Health, St. Francis Healthcare, St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital, University of Tennessee Health Sciences, Veterans Administration, Christ Community, Church Health

School Districts

Arlington Community Schools, Bartlett City Schools, Catholic Diocese of Memphis, Collierville Schools, Germanton Municipal School District, Lakeland School System, Millington Municipal Schools, Memphis Association of Independent Schools, Shelby County Schools

Emergency Support Functions

Emergency Support Function #1 – Transportation.  John Zeanah, DPD.  MATA, MSCAA, DMA, Engineering

Emergency Support Function #2 – Communications Michael Spencer, 911

Emergency Support Function #3 – Public Works And Engineering Cliff Norvill, SC.  Robert Knecht, CMEM

Emergency Support Function #4 – Firefighting Gina Sweat – MFD.  Alvin Benson, SCFD

Emergency Support Function #5 – Information And Planning Brenda Jones – SC EMA.  Richard Keith, Memphis OEM

Emergency Support Function #6 – Mass Care, Emergency Assistance, Temporary Housing, and Human Services Dorcas Young – SC.  Paul Young, HCD, SCS

Emergency Support Function #7 – Logistics Antonio Adams – CMEM.  Charles Newell, SC, Chief Staples, MFD

Emergency Support Function #8 – Public Health and Medical Services Alisa Haushalter – SCHD/ Minoj Jain CMEM

Emergency Support Function #11 – Agriculture and Natural Resources / Food:  Nick Walker -CMEM.  Food bank, MIFA, SCS, UofM 

Emergency Support Function #12 – Energy JT Young -MLGW

Emergency Support Function #13 – Public Safety and Security Floyd Bonner, SCSO. Mike Ryall, MPD

Emergency Support Function #14 – Cross-Sector Business and Infrastructure Kyle Veazey – CMEM GM Chamber, EDGE, DMC

Emergency Support Function #15 – External Affairs Ursula Madden – CMEM Joan Carr, SCHD,

Emergency Support Function #16- Animal Care Alexis Pugh – MAS Kasia Alexander -SCHD


Guidance issued by the Joint Task Force of City of Memphis and Shelby County.